Dark chocolate is bliss and certainly there is nothing wrong with having it straight up. An honest and true dark chocolate bar with just beans and sugar, maybe a little extra cocoa butter, is not to be argued with. I have spent many a happy day munching on an 85% solid dark chocolate and wanted for nothing more.
But I like a little variety in life. So, every now and again I go a bit caramel crazy. Smooth oozing caramel is my favourite - maybe a little salty to balance the sweet. Sharing with friends is even better. Happy days! But, it’s a bit awkward when you’re standing around with mouths full of chocolate and delicious caramel and your vegan friends walk up.
Guilty side ways looks. Quickly trying to munch down the evidence and casually wipe your mouth, resisting the temptation to lick your lips. Oh for shame!
Ok, it’s probably not that dramatic. Still, I wanted my vegan friends to join in the caramel joy too! The challenge to create a non-dairy caramel was too fun to pass up! Thanks to Chad and the eager volunteer tasters for their help! The end result was a non-dairy coconut caramel, which we now use to make non-dairy gooey pecans, non-dairy habañero caramel and other vegan caramels. Made with coconut milk (which I do indeed make from scratch myself with real organic coconuts) it is smooth and sweet just like caramel should be, but without the dairy.
Now, I have been slightly reluctant to advertise our vegan chocolate much because I don’t make vegan chocolate exclusively. Although we don’t put dairy in our dark chocolate or coconut caramel, we do make it in the same kitchen as our dairy versions, so it may contain dairy traces. So, if you just can’t take a chance that there might be a minute whisp of dairy somewhere in there, I get it, and I’m not offended in the least. But since I get asked about vegan chocolate all the time and because the coconut caramel has become one of our best sellers, I thought it was time to put it out there.
Here’s a list of some of the chocolate we make that is non-dairy (may contain dairy traces):
Coconut Gooey Pecans
Coconut Habañero Caramels
Solid Dark Chocolate
Dark Chocolate dipped fruits (Pineapple, Goldenberries, Cherries)
Dark Chocolate Almonds and Hazelnuts
Dark Chocolate Coffee Beans
Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Honey Hearts *some vegans do not eat honey
We believe in keeping the ingredients of our products as simple as possible. We do not use soy lecithin.
A note on cocoa butter: cocoa butter is not a dairy product, it is the oil pressed from cocoa beans.
To order vegan chocolate, visit our website www.takeafancy.ca, email me directly email@example.com or visit us at the farmers market.